52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

50. Urban Scenery (Week 41)

8 Comments

“We shape our buildings, thereafter they shape us.” ~ Winston Churchill ~

The urban landscape of Sarasota is constantly changing.  This is very evident as you drive around the bayfront.  Everytime I go downtown, I see another building going up.  This is what you see as you approach downtown from the John Ringling Bridge.

IMG_6859

IMG_6860

IMG_6848

IMG_6847

IMG_6857The newest construction project is to the left as you approach Highway 41 (locally known as the Tamiami Trail).

IMG_6836

The building is on the corner and it curves north along the Tamiami Trail.

IMG_6856 IMG_6855

And if you turn to the right, you will see the “Unconditional Surrender” statue that I featured in my previous blog.

IMG_6839

The backdrop from one side of the statue is Sarasota Bay and the opposite view is of highrise condominiums downtown, as the Tamiami Trail turns south.

IMG_6838

8 thoughts on “50. Urban Scenery (Week 41)

  1. Our little city is no longer little.

  2. True – I still like to think of it that way, but we are truly on the map!

  3. Hey Marie, I was driving down to Selby on July 2, and got the red light right in front of Unconditional Surrender. The roof was down and I just happened to look up, luckily my camera was
    on the seat next to me and I had just enough time to get a shot that looks like one of yours, and the light changed, This should be a link to it
    construction

    If that doesn’t work and you want to see it, it’s on my Flickr account “sewandsewchris”.

    As always, I enjoyed your post.

    • I just looked you up on Flickr and am now your newest follower!! You are so good and I am so intimidated! My blogs are for my stories to go with photos I take. One day I may advance my skills!

      • thanks, but don’t be intimidated by me, I’m just trying to improve like everybody else. I get lucky sometimes and get a really nice shot but each of the really good ones there’s hundreds I throw away.
        I love your posts – you have informed me about things I’d never thought about, like tires rims flying off cars, and you’ve taken me down roads I haven’t traveled and now hope to get to see. I’m happy to be one of your followers.

      • Thank you for that. I love reading about places people have gone, too. That’s about the only way we can travel most of the world!

  4. Oh, I didn’t expect the photo to post here, I thought the link would come up and if you wanted to you could click on it. Well now you get to see it no matter what you wanted.

Leave a Reply

