52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

A2. Circles (Week 28)

21 Comments

“I got a song that ain’t got no melody

I’m going to sing it to my friends…..

Will it go round in circles?

Will it fly high like a bird up in the sky?”

Lyrics for “Will it go Round in Circles” by Bruce Fisher and Billy Preston

Friday night I spotted this hub cap tree while we were driving thru downtown Palmetto.  I believe it was on 9th Ave West near Sutton Park.  With other old trucks and cars in the fenced lot, I’m curious what type of business is here and how this tree came about. IMG_5410 In many parts of the U.S. there are automotive garages whose walls are decorated with hubcaps that have fallen off in the vicinity. When hitting a bump on bad roads, hubcaps have a tendency to fall off. I’ve seen quite a few spin off when a tire has hit a curb. With research, I found that hubcaps generally use clip-on retention or bolt-on retention. Either way, you could still lose a hubcap. Clip-on hubcaps can pop off when you suddenly hit a pothole or curbstone and bolt-ons can vibrate loose over time. My husband shared this tidbit with me: If you are aware that your hubcap has just come off, look in front of you. The circumference of the hubcap is smaller that your wheel and it will spin and travel faster than you. So do not look for it behind you – look ahead. IMG_5412

21 thoughts on “A2. Circles (Week 28)

  1. Great post marie

  2. Great post marie, look ahead not back! Nice

  3. Hmmm…nice little tidbit of information.

  4. Nicely done, I look ahead to your next post!

  5. Nice catch…..perfect for the theme.

  6. cool photo and thanks for the info about traveling hub caps, I’d never thought of the forward motion and hope I never need to remember it.

  7. Very interesting with the hub caps.

  8. Ann, a friend of mine who lives in Palmetto, informed me that this is Slick’s Garage. He has a tv show on the Discovery Channel called “Highway to Sell.” Very cool!

  9. Slick’s is also the location for weekend custom car shows. Good subject for the theme.

  10. Very creative for circle theme!

  11. Well spotted. Nice use of the old hubcaps. Our last car is just about to go but no hub caps left!

  12. I saw this awhile ago…and took photos…but did not know what to do with them, duh…well you got it right Circles of course!

Leave a Reply

