52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

29. On Two Wheels (Week 21)

7 Comments

I spotted this bicycle with all of the bells downtown this weekend.  I do not know the story – do you?

IMG_3256

 

from Worldwide Cycling Atlas:

Welcome to Biketopia.

Ride a bike.
And discover it’s not only a form of transportation,
neither a way of life.
Look around. It’s a common pleasure.
Something the richest person on earth
and the most humble man can both enjoy.
And when you enjoy something,
pleasure turns into energy.
Energy that not only takes you from one place to the other,
but also turns the world into a better place.
A place where everybody chooses to burn calories
over burning fuel.
Where people make things happen
instead of clicking the “Like” button.
Where the thing you love the most
can push you forward.
Finding this place is up to you.
It’s not on your couch,
It’s not on TV.
It’s not at your door.
It might be hard to imagine two wheels and a chain making a difference.
But we do.

7 thoughts on “29. On Two Wheels (Week 21)

  1. Clicked your like button! Love to ride my bike. I have never seen this downtown so it’s a mystery to me.

  2. I saw several bikes downtown as well…..chained and decorated. I took a picture for this theme but it might be more appropriate for “it’s a mystery”!

    • I almost used this for Musical! You’re right about the mystery. Someone told me today that there is one with flamingoes, as well. The next one of us to find one should go for the Mystery theme!!

  3. That is definitely different.

  4. Working downtown, I have seen several of these and have taken photos of several as well, with my cell phone. I saw a man riding one downtown one Saturday morning and would guess that he is the one that decorates them. I have seen one with flowers, flamingos, rockets, owls, etc. Unfortunately, I have noticed that several of them get vandalized as well. I enjoy seeing them and they always make me smile when I do.

  5. I posted one of those bicycles for the same theme, Marie. I was told at the time that these cycles are dotted around Sarasota, and despite some of them being vandalized, the artist keeps doing it. 🙂

  6. The artist has certainly got you all guessing! Lovely image for the theme.

Leave a Reply

