52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

49. Two of Us (Week 13)

13 Comments

Calvin Coolidge, our 30th President of the United States was known for his dry Yankee wit and his frugality with words. His wife, Grace, recounted that a young woman sitting next to Coolidge at a dinner party confided to him she had bet she could get at least three words of conversation from him. Without looking at her he quietly retorted, “You lose.”

 

Built in 1883, the Lakeside Inn in Mt Dora is the last of the Grand Victorian Era Hotels still remaining in Central Florida. There are five brightly-painted yellow and white buildings surrounded by stately oaks covered with Spanish moss. The last two additions were completed in 1930. During their month’s stay in the winter of 1940, President Calvin Coolidge and his wife Grace were on hand to dedicate the Gables and Terrace wings.

IMG_0884

 

That explains why the white swan paddle boats on the banks of the inn boast the names of Grace and Calvin. The two-person paddleboats are about six feet long and three-and-a-half-feet wide. When I first saw them, they were positioned side by side. As the sun was setting, I noticed that someone had re-positioned them facing each other. I could see their necks formed a heart. I started taking pictures as the sun was setting in the background. When my husband and I are together in a beautiful setting, it’s not easy to get a photo of “the two of us”, so as couples were strolling to and from the dock I drew their attention to the swans and offered to use their cameras to take pictures of the two of them with the romantic prop.

IMG_1085

 

IMG_1053

 

 

IMG_0988

13 thoughts on “49. Two of Us (Week 13)

  1. Nicely written story that might prompt me to take a drive there. And good use for this theme.

  2. You had a nice idea to use the swans as your theme this week. Calvin and Grace would’ve been pleased, I am sure.

    • I wanted to use them Somewhere – and the Two of Us seemed like a fun way to fit them in! unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of the two of us (husband and me) – but I helped about a half dozen other couples. And it was fun seeing others with cameras because not everyone shares our passion, right?!

  3. The paddle boats are adorable. Someone set up a great couple of shots for you.

  4. Very nice, Marie! Great pictures to go with the theme, “Two of Us”. And I really enjoyed the history lesson, as well!

    • Thank you – The boats prompted me to read more about Calvin Coolidge. As we get older and no longer have to study history, it’s now fun to learn things on our own terms!

  5. Nice series of pictures that perfectly fit the theme and I loved the little bit of trivia.

Leave a Reply

