52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

43. That Reminds Me (Week 49)

12 Comments

WATCH OUT FOR MOTORCYCLES

LOOK TWICE… SAVE A LIFE

I lost a friend this weekend. Bill had just said good-bye to a group of us who had met for breakfast. He got on his motorcycle and headed home. As he was stopped at a light at an intersection, a car rode up on him and dragged him 250 feet. The car then left the scene.

 

IMG_0140

 

Bill was 61 years old. He was a soft-spoken man who came to club meetings that promoted safety, he donated to causes to support Veteran’s causes and to save children’s lives, and he participated in 9/11 rides. He will be missed by his friends, family, and motorcycling community.

There are organizations that are trying to strengthen laws and awareness for motorcyclists rights. For some reason, penalties for causing a fatality of a motorcyclist are not as severe as penalties for killing another driver. The AMA (American Motorcyclist Association) works hard to introduce legislation in this area to support motorcyclists. AAA (American Automobile Association) has made Intersection Awareness their cause by introducing a motorcycle sign at intersections in 60 cities across the country.

When I am in a car and am behind a motorcycle, I try to keep my distance at stops so that if a car were to hit me from behind, I would not run up on the bike. And as a motorcyclist, when traveling in small groups, we learn not to leave so much gap in between us on the road that a car will pull dangerously between us.

As you see the “Watch out for motorcyclists” decals on vehicles, let it remind you to Please be especially alert at intersections.

IMG_0136

12 thoughts on “43. That Reminds Me (Week 49)

  1. How awful! I’m sorry for your loss.

  2. So very sorry for the loss of your friend. It is everyone’s responsibility to watch for motorcycles. Thank you for sharing!

  3. What a shame for a good man to lose his life needlessly. I was behind a cycle on 275 in Tampa today, and i kept my distance as I recognize the need for extra safe following distance for a bike. So sorry about your friend.

  4. So sorry for your loss Marie…

  5. So sorry for your loss Marie.

  6. Tears in my eyes, Marie. I once owned a motorcycle so I am aware of the danger. My thoughts are with you and those who called Bill a friend.

  7. I’m just going through your photos and read this sad story. I lost my brother in law to a motorcycle crash and motor bikes make me go cold now. I too wish everyone would take more care.

Leave a Reply

